JEFFERSON COUNTY BOARD MINUTES TUESDAY, April 21, 2020, 5:00 P.M.

County Clerk Audrey McGraw gave the Call to Order. McGraw led the Pledge of Allegiance.

McGraw called the roll, all members being present, Payne, Kelly, Backlund, Roberts, Lund, and Herbst being present via Zoom.

District 1 Richard C. Jones	District 2 Mike Kelly
District 3 Greg David	District 4 Augie Tietz
District 5 James B. Braughler	District 6 Dan Herbst
District 7. Dwayne C. Morris	District 8 Michael Wineke
District 9 Amy Rinard	District 10 Lloyd Zastrow
District 11 Jeff Johns	District 12 Jeff Smith
District 13 Anita Martin	District 14 Kirk Lund
District 15 Steven J. Nass	District 16 Laura Payne
District 17 Russell Kutz	District 18 Brandon White
District 19 Dave Drayna	District 20 Curtis Backlund
District 21. John C. Kannard	District 22 Blane Poulson
District 23 George Jaeckel	District 24 Roger Lindl
District 25. Matthew Foelker	District 26Joan Fitzgerald
District 27 Conor Nelan	District 28 Dick Schultz
District 29 Mary K. Roberts	District 30 Walt Christensen
Administration of the Oat	h of Office by the Honorable
William F. Hue.	•

County Administrator Wehmeier introduced the new members of the Board: Jeff Smith, District 12; Anita Martin, District 13; Dave Drayna, District 19; and Curtis Backlund, District 20.

Wehmeier certified compliance with the Open Meetings Law.

Approval of the Agenda. Nass moved to accept the Agenda as printed. Seconded and passed.

Adoption of Rules of Order.

Wehmeier introduced Ordinance No. 2020-01.

Chapter III, Board of Supervisors Rules of Order 2020-2022. Wineke moved for the adoption of Ordinance No. 2020-01. Seconded and passed.

Appointment of Ballot Clerks.

The Board proceeded to the election of the County Board Chair and Vice Chairs. County Clerk McGraw read Section 3.02(1) of the County Board Rules regarding electing a Chair, Vice Chair and a Second Vice Chair. McGraw appointed the following ballot clerks: Marc DeVries, Terri Palm, Sheriff Milbrath, and Matt Zangl.

Election of County Board Chair.

Election of County Board Chair. Nominations were made by written, secret ballot for County Board Chair. Nominated were Schultz, Jaeckel, Rinard, and Nass. Schultz declined the nomination. McGraw called on Chair nominees to give a brief statement up to three minutes in length. The first round nominees moving on to the second round were Rinard and Nass. The second round ballot for Chair was tallied, and Nass was elected as Chair.

Chair Nass presides over the rest of the meeting.

Nominations were made by written, secret ballot for First Vice Chair. Nominated were Tietz, Morris, Poulson, Braughler, Jaeckel, Rinard, Nelan, and Christensen. Morris, Poulson, Jaeckel, and Christensen declined the nomination. The Chair called on First Vice Chair nominees to give a brief statement up to three minutes in length. The ballot for First Vice Chair was tallied. Rinard was elected First Vice Chair.

Nominations were made by written, secret ballot for Second Vice Chair. Nominated were Jones, Tietz, Poulson, Schultz, Braughler, Wineke, David, Nelan, and Christensen. Jones, Poulson, Schultz, and David declined the nomination. The Chair called on Second Vice Chair nominees to give a brief statement up to three minutes in length. The first round nominees moving on to the second round were Braughler and Christensen. The second round ballot for Second Vice Chair was tallied, and Braughler was elected as Second Vice Chair.

Committee Elections:

No Flections.

Communications.

County Clerk McGraw presented the following communications:

- 1. Treasurer's Monthly Report.
- 2. Notice of Public Hearing from the Jefferson County Planning and Zoning Committee for a hearing to be held on April 23, 2020, at 6:00 p.m. via Zoom.

Public Comment. None.

Wehmeier introduced Resolution No. 2019-85.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED the County Board ratifies the emergency declaration issued by County Board Chair Jim Schroeder on March 13, 2020, which presently in effect with the full power and effect as determined. This ratification is continued until May 12, 2020. Nass requests motion on this Resolution.

Braughler moved for the adoption of Resolution No. 2019-85. Seconded and passed.

Wehmeier, introduced Resolution No. 2019-86.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED the County Board authorizes the utilization of remote attendance at all County meetings held to facilitate the transaction of County business with minimal barriers to participation of members of Board/Commissions/Committee and facilitate ability for public transparency. This rule shall be in effect until Declaration

of Emergency is ended. Nass requests motion on this Resolution.

Poulson moved for the adoption of Resolution No. 2019-86. Seconded and passed.

Braughler, Human Resources Committee Chair, introduced Resolution No. 2020-01.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the County Budget setting forth position allocations and funding at the Human Services Department be and is hereby amended to create one full-time Psychotherapist position, to become effective upon passage.

Braughler moved for the adoption of Resolution No. 2020-01. Seconded and passed.

Ayes 30 (Jones, Kelly, David, Tietz, Braughler, Herbst, Morris, Wineke, Rinard, Zastrow, Johns, Smith, Martin, Lund, Nass, Payne, Kutz, White, Drayna, Backlund, Kannard, Poulson, Jaeckel, Lindl, Foelker, Fitzgerald, Nelan, Schultz, Roberts, Christensen), Noes 0, Absent 0.

Morris, Law Enforcement and Emergency Management Committee Chair, introduced Resolution No. 2020-02. Repeal & Amend Resolution 2018-73 Adopting the Jefferson County Natural Hazards Mitigation Plan: 2019-2023 2024. Morris moved for the adoption of Resolution No. 2020-02. Seconded and passed.

Public Comment (General). Greg David encouraging the support of local business.

Announcements.

Supplemental information presented at the April 21, 2020, Jefferson County Board meeting will be available at the County Clerk's office upon request or on the County's website at www.jeffersoncountywi.gov.

There being no further business, Morris moved that the Board adjourn. Seconded and carried at 6:28 p.m.